Dixon Wins IndyCar Opener In Texas

After an almost three month delay to start the season, IndyCar was finally able to get underway on Saturday, June 6th in Fort Worth, TX. The Genesys 300 was originally supposed to be a 248 lap race at the Texas Motor Speedway but was changed to 200 laps. The compressed schedule forced racing officials to fit the entire weekend schedule (practice, qualifying and race) into one day.

Five-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Scott Dixon added to his extensive resume. With his win on Saturday he moved only 5 wins behind Mario Andretti’s 52 for second most wins in IndyCar. Dixon is still 20 wins behind all time IndyCar winner A.J Foyt who finished his career with 67.

Dixon was either leading or near the front of the pack for the entire race. A restart on lap 197 allowed him to pull away from the crowd in order to take home his 47th checkered flag.

The next NTT INDYCAR SERIES race is the GMR Grand Prix on Saturday, July 4 on the road course at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.


Popular Posts

To Top