Formula One

Verstappen Wins the 70th Anniversary GP

Max Verstappen. Image from Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen won the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix on Silverstone. With alternative tire strategy, the young Dutch driver interrupted Mercedes’ complete dominance in 2020. His Red Bull machine also allowed him to preserve the condition of his tires better, which forced his rivals into additional pit stops. Having put fresh tires, Lewis Hamilton managed to pass his teammate Valtteri Bottas at the later stage of the race, and the two of them filled out the last two steps on the podium.

Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc finished in P4 after another great performance by the Monegasque driver who started 8th on the grid. Alex Albon finished 5th with Red Bull, ahead of Lance Stroll in P6 for Racing Point. Stroll’s temporary teammate, Nico Hulkenberg, finished 7th after starting qualifying 3rd yesterday. The Racing Point cars did not perform as well during the race, and lost the battles with Leclerc and Albon. Renault’s Esteban Ocon finished 8th, ahead of McLaren’s Lando Norris and Alpha Tauri’s Daniil Kvyat in P9 and P10, respectively.

Pierre Gasly for Alpha Tauri was the first to miss on the points today. Sebastian Vettel finished where he started – in P12. The German lost control of his Ferrari during the first lap of the race and almost spun outside of the track. This put him at the back of the grid, and P12 was pretty much all he could achieve after fighting with slower cars and managing his tires. Carlos Sainz with McLaren also finished in his starting place – 13th. The Spaniard was help up by his mechanics during a pit stop, which cost him precious time, and ultimately denied him the chance for a points’ finish. Despite his strong pace on Silverstone last week, Daniel Ricciardo finished 14th today after spinning his Renault towards the end of the race. Kimi Raikkonen managed to bring his disastrous Alfa Romeo from last to P15 for the finish of this race.

Romain Grosjean with Haas finished 16th, ahead of Kimi’s teammate Antonio Giovinazzi in P17. The two Williams drivers were last to see the checkered flag today, with P18 for George Russell and 19th place for Nicholas Latifi. Kevin Magnussen was forced to park his Haas in the garage, making him the only driver to retire from this race.

Check out this LINK for the complete results from the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix in Britain.


Popular Posts

To Top