SkullKing Sports

Formula One

Lewis Wins Chaotic Turkish Grand Prix and 7th World Title

Lewis Hamilton. 2020 Turkish Grand Prix. Image from Mercedes Media Archives.

Lewis Hamilton with Mercedes won the 2020 Formula One Turkish Grand Prix on the Istanbul Park. By doing so, Lewis won his 7th career Formula One championship and matched Michael Schumacher’s all-time record. Sergio Perez placed 2nd for Racing Point, keeping his starting place from earlier today. Despite a crucial mistake at the final lap of the race, Perez managed to pass Charles Leclerc back just two turns before the checkered flag.

Sebastian Vettel also managed to squeeze his Ferrari ahead of Charles’ just on the very last turn, and scored his first podium since the 2019 Mexican Grand Prix. Nevertheless, both Ferrari drivers gave their best efforts today and turned the 11th and 12th starting positions into P3 for Vettel and P4 for Leclerc.

McLaren’s two drivers also did a phenomenal job today. Lando Norris and Carlos Sainz stared from 15th and 16th, respectively. However, the two of them applied the correct tire strategy and finished in P5 for Sainz and P8 for Norris.

Based on their practice and qualifying sessions, Red Bull gave the most hopes for challenging the win today. However, Alex Albon’s poor tire strategy and Max Verstappen’s multiple spins in the wet cost them the chance to win or at least get some podiums. Ultimately, Max placed 5th, while Albon remained 6th.

Even though Lance Stroll with Racing Point started from the pole position, the young Canadian only managed to finish in P9. Stroll did have a good pace at the beginning of the race when the track was still quite wet, however, his pit stop strategy became the disaster that took him out of the fight for the lead. Daniel Ricciardo snatched the last point with his P10 for Renault, ahead of his teammate Esteban Ocon in P11.

AlphaTauri’s Daniil Kvyat and Pierre Gasly finished in 12th and 13th, respectively. Valtteri Bottas struggled with the grip throughout the entire race. Bottas spun his Mercedes in turn 1 at the start, as well as, three (at least) more times later on. Valtteri’s poor performance resulted in the disappointing P14 for him. Kimi Raikkonen with Alfa Romeo finished 15th, while George Russell came in P16 for Williams.

On lap 13, Antonio Giovinazzi parked his Alfa Romeo on the track, which provoked a short virtual safety car procedure. Giovinazzi’s issues with the car ended up fatal and forced him to retire from the race.

On lap 43, Nicholas Latifi came into the pits and retired his Williams. The Canadian was running last in P19 right before that.

On lap 53, Romain Grosjean also retired from the race by parting his Haas into the garage. His teammate Kevin Magnussen did the same just two laps later. The two of them struggled with the grip throughout the entire weekend, which resulted in multiple mistakes and spins.

Fastest lap: Lando Norris – 1:36.806

You can access the official race results by clicking on this LINK.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Popular Posts

To Top
%d bloggers like this: